Runnin’ Rebel Legend Larry Johnson Selected To National Collegiate Basketball Hall Of Fame


UNLV men’s basketball legend is first from the program to earn the honor

Buy UNLVtickets  |  @UNLVAthletics  |  @TheRunninRebels

UNLV Athletics Hall of Famer and Runnin’ Rebel legend Larry Johnson is one of six decorated former players and three influential former head coaches selected to the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2019, the NABC announced Tuesday.

Johnson will be among those officially enshrined on Nov. 24 in Kansas City at the 2019 National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Induction Celebration presented by Nike.

Johnson is the first from UNLV to become a member of the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame.

Regarded by many as the greatest UNLV basketball player ever, Johnson was a dominant force during the Runnin’ Rebels’ run in the early 1990s. After starting his career at Odessa College in Texas where he won Junior College National Player of the Year honors, he transferred to UNLV in 1989 and averaged 21.6 points and 11.2 rebounds per game over the next two years.

Johnson was a two-time consensus first-team All-American, two-time Big West Player of the Year and the 1991 consensus National Player of the Year.

Under Naismith Memorial Hall of Famer Jerry Tarkanian, Johnson led the UNLV men’s basketball team to the 1990 national championship and then went 35-1 the following year, making a second straight NCAA Final Four appearance.

In his two years at UNLV, Johnson scored 1,617 points and collected 837 rebounds. He is still the program’s record holder for most rebounds in a season with 457 (1989-90).

The first pick in the 1991 NBA Draft, Johnson earned the league’s Rookie of the Year award in 1992 and went on to become a two-time NBA All-Star. He was inducted into the UNLV Athletics Hall of Fame in 2002.

The 2019 class of the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2019 includes Indiana’s Calbert Cheaney, Duke’s Shane Battier, Purdue’s Terry Dischinger, Providence’s Ernie DiGregorio, Stanford’s Todd Lichti, and former coaches Homer Drew, Lute Olson and the late Rick Majerus.

ESPN Radio kicks off 6th Annual 24-Hour Talk Show benefitting The Caring Place

ESPN Radio 1100AM & 98.9FM’s
6th Annual “24-Hour Talk Show” and “Sportsperson of the Year” Event to Benefit The Caring Place

MAACO Bowl Las Vegas Executive Director Tina Kunzer-Murphy
to receive annual Sportsperson award

Local and national sports and entertainment celebrities along with ESPN Radio 1100/98.9 have confirmed their participation to help host “The 24-Hour Talk Show” on July 22 to benefit The Caring Place, a local nonprofit organization dedicated to easing the journey of those affected by cancer.

“The 24-Hour Talk Show” and “Sportsperson of the Year” event began six years ago to help make The Caring Place a reality. The Caring Place offers no-cost services and programs to those battling cancer such as gentle yoga, massage therapy, meditation for stress reduction, nutrition classes and support groups provided by certified, licensed professionals that are intended to support conventional medical treatments.
The radio show will be broadcast from the Palms Casino and Resort for 24 hours beginning at  10 a.m. on July 22 and feature a myriad of celebrity hosts including, Bernard Hopkins, Brent Musburger, Mike Tyson, Larry Johnson, Moses Scurry, Jim Fassel, JT The Brick, Molly Sullivan, Tony Dovolani and Carrot Top. ESPN Radio 1100/98.9 listeners and others from around the country had the opportunity to bid for a co-hosting spot with one or more of the participating celebrities, with all proceeds benefiting The Caring Place.
A cocktail reception for the Sportsperson of the Year award will take place from 6:30pm-8:30pm, on Friday, July 22nd, providing guests an opportunity to mingle with the celebrities and sports figures.
The reception will be held at the Palms Casino Resort located at 4321 W. Flamingo Road. Tickets to the event are $75 per person or $600 for a table of 10, and can be purchased by calling 702-871-7333.
During the cocktail reception, MAACO Bowl Las Vegas Executive Director Tina Kunzer-Murphy will be honored as ESPN 1100/98.9’s 2011 Sportsperson of the Year. Kunzer-Murphy has been a fixture in the Southern Nevada sports community since earning her bachelor’s degree at UNLV in 1975. The former Rebel student-athlete and head coach went on to work for UNLV Athletics as Senior Women’s Administrator, Assistant Athletic Director and Senior Assistant AD before joining the Las Vegas 51s and Thunder professional franchises as Director of Corporate Sales and Marketing. After UNLV moved to the Western Athletic Conference in 1996, Kunzer-Murphy was hired by the league to run its annual football championship game and men’s and women’s basketball championship events in Las Vegas. Kunzer-Murphy was then selected to run the local ESPN Regional Television office and in 2000 she became Executive Director of the Las Vegas Bowl, which ERT purchased in 2001. Under her leadership, the MAACO Bowl Las Vegas has enjoyed six consecutive sellouts along with record TV ratings. The bowl will celebrate its 20th year on Thursday Dec. 22, 2011. One of only two current female bowl-game directors in the nation, Kunzer-Murphy currently serves as President of the Football Bowl Association. She was inducted into the Southern Nevada Sports Hall of Fame in 2007.
Previous Sportsperson of the Year recipients include Sacramento Kings & Palms Owners Joe and Gavin Maloof, Basketball Coach Lon Kruger, Boxing Promoter Bob Arum, Ultimate Fighting Championship President Dana White and Las Vegas 51s Executive Director Don Logan.
For more information about the 24-Hour Talk Show, go to For more information on The Caring Place, go to